Traitor Wolves – Random Musings

So I realized the other day it’s been awhile since I posted the current state of my 1500 Astronomi-CON space wolves list.

Not a whole lot has changed, its still the same fundamentally with Grey Hunters and Long Fangs. I’ve changed squad sizes and revised roles a bit.

1499/1500 Traitor Wolves – The Dreaded 13th

HQ:

110 Rune Priest – Chooser of the Slain, Living Lightning, Murderous Hurricane

Elite:

129 3x Wolf Guard – Power fists, Combi-Meltas

125 Dreadnought – 2x Twin-Linked Autocannons

Fast:

160 2x Thunderwolf Cavalry – 1 Thunder Hammer, 1 Storm Shield

Troops:

185 8x Grey Hunters – Mark of the Wulfen, Wolf Standard, Meltagun, Rhino

185 8x Grey Hunters – Mark of the Wulfen, Wolf Standard, Meltagun, Rhino

170 7x Grey Hunters – Mark of the Wulfen, Wolf Standard, Meltagun, Rhino

155 5x Grey Hunters – Meltagun, Razorback (Las/Plas)

Heavy:

6 Long Fangs – 5 Missile Launchers

6 Long Fangs – 5 Missile Launchers

So I dropped a Rune Priest in favour of a Rifleman dread. I find the dread a bit more survivable and a bit less random. I don’t really need two rune staffs as they don’t stack and living lighting isn’t as good as 4 twin-linked autocannon shots from the dread. Who I found out is also really good at tarpitting nasty DE units like Vect and Incubi.

I dropped a few of the TWC to flesh out my Grey Hunters as these are the guys who win battles for me.

Other than that, not a whole lot has changed.

I’m not loving the TWC in this list. I think they’re much more suited for 1750 games or higher. I can’t seem to make them perform how I want, they either get torrented or overkill. I might consider running 1 with a thunder hammer and storm shield but to be honest I’m thinking of dropping it and picking up another 6 long fangs /w missile launchers and tossing power weapons into the Grey Hunter squads to help beef them up in combat a bit more.  The only reason I haven’t yet is it seems fairly boring to play/paint.  I could also add 2 typhoon speeders which might be interesting as well.

Thoughts?

 

If you want to receive regular updates of new content subscribe on the top right of this page!

About Crimzzen

Plays X Wing! (And sometimes Warmachine...)
This entry was posted in Tactica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

